ICO programme committee chairs

Prof. John Wilding

Professor of Medicine, University of Liverpool, UK

Past-President, World Obesity Federation

John leads Clinical Research into Obesity, Diabetes and Endocrinology at the University of Liverpool. He has been a clinical academic at the University of Liverpool since 1996, and was appointed as Professor of Medicine in 2005. He leads specialist services for severe obesity at University Hospital Aintree – designated a Centre for Obesity Management by the UK and European Associations for the Study of Obesity. He is an Associate Editor of Diabetic Medicine, and chairs the National Clinical Research Network Metabolic and Endocrine Speciality Group. He is a past Chair of the UK Association for the Study of Obesity and a member of the Royal College of Physicians Advisory Group on Nutrition, Weight and Health.

Prof. Brian Oldfield

Professor of Physiology, Monash University, Australia

President, Asia Oceania Association for the Study of Obesity

Brian has been an NHMRC Research Fellow since 1985 and a Principal Research Fellow since 2001. He has held a professorial appointment in the Department of Physiology, Monash University since 2005 and is an adjunct Senior Principal Research Fellow at the Charles Perkins Centre, Sydney. He has long standing interests that extend beyond his scientific focus and involve attempts to better inform other researchers and the general community about the biology of overweight and weight loss and, as such, hopes to help to reduce the stigma that is often directed toward those with obesity.

Jane Martin

Executive Manager, Obesity Policy Coalition, Australia

President, Australia and New Zealand Obesity Society

Jane has worked in public health advocacy for more than thirty-five years covering tobacco control, alcohol policy and obesity prevention. Her interests lie in research, knowledge translation and partnerships to support reform. She is active in the media as a commentator and advises state and federal governments on alcohol and obesity policy. Jane was awarded the Public Health Association’s President’s Award in 2019 and a Deakin Honorary Doctorate for her contribution to public health advocacy in 2018. She is co-chair of the National Alliance for Action on Alcohol, and leads the Obesity Policy Coalition, a partnership between Cancer Council Victoria, Diabetes Victoria and GLOBE – the WHO Collaborating Centre for Obesity Prevention at Deakin University.

ICO programme committee co-chairs

Dr. Simón Barquera

Director, Nutrition and Health Research Center, National Institute of Public Health, Mexico

President-Elect, World Obesity Federation

Prof. Karine Clément

Professor of Nutrition, INSERM/Sorbonne Universite Research Unit, France

Prof. Soo Lim

Professor, Department of Internal Medicine and Liver Research Institute, Seoul National University Bundang Hospital, Korea

ICO programme committee co-ordinator

Dr. Leonie Heilbronn

Associate Professor, The University of Adelaide, Australia

ICO programme organising committee

Dr. Nasreen Al Faris
Harvard Medical School, SA
Prof. Monika Aurora
Public Health Foundation of India, IN
Dr. Olivia Barata Cavalcanti
World Obesity Federation, UK
Prof. Louise Baur
President, World Obesity Federation
University of Sydney, AU
Dr. Ada Cuevas
Center for Advanced Medolic Medicine and Nutrition, CL
Dr. José Galgani
Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile, CL
Dr. Gijs Goosens
Maastricht University Medical Centre, NL
Prof. Sir Trevor Hassell
Healthy Caribbean Coalition, BB
Prof. Shingo Kajimura
Prof. Carel le Roux
University College Dublin, IE
Prof. Jean Claude Mbanya
National Obesity Centre at the Central Hospital, CM
Prof. Masimatsu Nakazato
University of Miyazaki, JP
Dr. Mohamed Ismail Mohamed Noor
Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia, MY
Prof. Anna Peeters
Deakin University, AU
Prof. Camilla Schéele
University of Copenhagen, DK
Dr. Priya Sumithran
University of Melbourne & Austin Health, AU
Prof. Rachel Taylor
Dunedin School of Medicine, NZ
Dr. Kwang Wei Tham
National Healthcare Group, SG
Dr. Collin Tukuitonga
Secretariat of the Pacific Community, NU
Dr. Lori Zeltser
Naomi Berrie Diabetes Center, US