Plenary speakers

Prof. Karine Clément

Professor of Nutrition, INSERM/Sorbonne Universite Research Unit, France

Karine Clément (MD, PhD) is medical doctor, full professor of Nutrition at Pitié-Salpêtrière hospital and Sorbonne University in Paris. Since 2002, her research unit at INSERM works on the pathophysiology of obesity and related disorders particularly focusing on interorgan cross-talks (, @ClementLab).

From 2011-2016, she created and was the director of the Institute of CardiometAbolisme and Nutrition (ICAN). KC has been first involved in genetics of obesity and contributed to the identification of monogenic forms of obesity, a field where new medical treatments are now available to patients. Her group is also exploring the link between environmental changes (as changes in lifestyle and nutrition), gut microbiota, immune system and tissue functional modifications (adipose tissue fibrosis and inflammation). KC and her group contributed to more than 400 highly cited publications.

KC received several national and international prizes and contributes to several science advisory boards and international consortia. Amongst them FP7-METACARDIS is a EU project dedicated to the study of gut microbiota in Cardiometabolic diseases and KC was coordinator of Metacardis for 6 years. KC is a member of several international groups and association (such as WOF, EASO, EASD, AFERO as vice president) and received several national and international prizes (such Irene Jolliot-Curie, Gallien, Fondation de France (Valade) and Jacoebaus prizes).

Prof. Silvia Corvera

Professor and Endowed Chair, Diabetes Research, University of Massachusetts Chan Medical School, United States

Silvia Corvera, MD, is the Endowed Chair in Diabetes Research at the University of Massachusetts Chan Medical School, and a Professor in the Program in Molecular Medicine. Her laboratory focuses on human adipose tissue development and its relationship to systemic metabolism and type 2 diabetes. In particular, her focus is on identifying the full complement of diverse human adipocyte subtypes, their developmental mechanisms, and their physiological roles. Her lab has pioneered the use of species-hybrid models to study the development of adipose tissues from multipotent mesenchymal progenitor cells residing in different human adipose depots.

In addition to her research activities, Dr. Corvera is dedicated to efforts towards developing a strong biomedical workforce. She was director of the UMASS MD/PhD program, which was funded through a Medical Scientist Training Program by the National Institutes of Health from 2017 to 2022. She developed and directed the Clinical Translational Research pathway for the School of Medicine, which provides longitudinal research training opportunities to medical students. She was elected to the AAMC-GREAT group MD/PhD Steering Committee in 2020.

Dr. Corvera serves on multiple national advisory committees. She currently serves as a member of the National Institutes of Health Endocrinology/BMDM Study Section, and as a member of the National Advisory Committee for the PEW Latin American Fellows Program.  She served as the Chair of the Mentor Advisory Group for the new “Pathway to Stop Diabetes” of the American Diabetes Association from 2017 to 2019, and as a member of the Research Policy Committee from 2017 to 2021. She served on the Chartered NIH-NIDDK, Diabetes, Endocrinology, and Metabolic Diseases B Subcommittee from 2014 to 2018. She has served on the editorial boards of Diabetes (2003-2005) the Journal of Biological Chemistry (2000-2003), and FASEB Journal (current).

Prof. Jacob George

Robert W. Storr Chair of Hepatic Medicine, Sydney Medical School, The Westmead Institute for Medical Research, Australia

Professor Jacob George is the Robert W. Storr Professor of Hepatic Medicine at the Storr Liver Centre, Westmead Institute for Medical Research, University of Sydney and Head of the Department of Gastroenterology and Hepatology at Westmead Hospital and Director of Gastroenterology and Hepatology Services for the Western Sydney Local Health District. 

He undertakes basic and clinical research on MAFLD, hepatitis C, liver cancer and hepatic fibrosis. He is an Associate Editor for the Journal of Hepatology, and is on the Editorial Board of Hepatology, Hepatology Communications, Liver International, and the World Journal of Gastroenterology. Jacob is on the executive of the International Association for the Study of Liver (IASL) and is the Chair of the Liver Faculty of the Gastroenterological Society of Australia. 

He is a founding member on the Asia Pacific Regional Advisory Council to the AASLD, Global Outreach and Engagement Committee. He has published >515 papers, has >46,000 citations and an h index of 96.

Prof. Carlos Monteiro

Professor of Nutrition and Public Health, School of Public Health, University of Sao Paulo, Brazil

Carlos Monteiro, MD, PhD, is a Professor of Nutrition and Public Health at the School of Public Health, University of Sao Paulo, Brazil, where he heads the Center for Epidemiological Studies in Health and Nutrition.

His research lines include new methods in population nutritional and food intake assessment, epidemiology of all forms of malnutrition, dietary determinants of non-communicable diseases, and food processing and human health.

On these subjects, he has published more than 250 journal articles that had more than 18,000 citations in the Web of Science (H index: 67). In the last four years (2018-2021), he was included in the Clarivate Analytics Global Highly Cited Researchers List. Since 2008, he is member of the Brazilian Academy of Sciences.

He has served on numerous national and international nutrition expert panels and committees and, since 2010, he is a member of the WHO Nutrition Expert Advisory Group. In 2010, he received the Pan-American Health Organization Abraham Horwitz Award for Excellence in Leadership in Inter-American Health.

Prof. Eran Segal

Professor, Department of Computer Science and Applied Mathematics, Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, Israel

Eran Segal is a Professor at the Department of Computer Science and Applied Mathematics at the Weizmann Institute of Science, heading a lab with a multi-disciplinary team of computational biologists and experimental scientists in the area of Computational and Systems biology. His group has extensive experience in machine learning, computational biology, and analysis of heterogeneous high-throughput genomic data. His research focuses on Microbiome, Nutrition, Genetics, and their effect on health and disease. His aim is to develop personalized medicine based on big data from human cohorts.

Prof. Segal published over 180 publications, and received several awards and honors for his work, including the Overton prize, awarded annually by the International Society for Bioinformatics (ICSB) to one scientist for outstanding accomplishments in computational biology, and the Michael Bruno award. He was also elected as an EMBO member and as a member of the young Israeli academy of science. During the COVID-19 pandemic, Prof. Segal developed models for analyzing the dynamics of the pandemic and served as an advisor to the government of Israel.

Before joining the Weizmann Institute, Prof. Segal held an independent research position at Rockefeller University, New York.

Education: Prof. Segal was awarded a B.Sc. in Computer Science summa cum laude in 1998, from Tel-Aviv University, and a Ph.D. in Computer Science and Genetics in 2004, from Stanford University.

Lab website: